Le Mary Celeste, Paris

After a long day of walking the streets of Paris and mentally exhausting myself with the many galleries and museums, I swung by this wonderful small bar, Le Mary Celeste, for a quick light dinner and glass of wine. I had heard great things, but I was still blown away by how excellent the food was and what a cosy, vibrant atmosphere it had.

IMG_9630

It was already quite full, but I managed to get a seat at the bar (the best spot in my opinion) where I watched the bartenders work their magic. Le Mary Celeste is renowned for their cocktails, but I went for a glass of white wine to go with my dinner and I was glad I did, because it was so lovely and crisp and went very well with the Oeuf du Diable (devilled eggs with spring onion, ginger and toasted wild rice). Although the eggs were quite filling, I was so curious looking through the interesting menu of reinvented classic French dishes, that I decided to order one more!

IMG_9633

Never having tried steak tartare before, both because I don’t normally eat red meat and because it’s not a very common dish back home, I decided that if I was ever going to try it, Paris would be the right place. Le Mary Celeste do not serve up your classic steak tartare though, their’s is a rich concoction of excellent beef, chicken chicharron, herbs and piquante sauce. I did enjoy this dish a lot, but I think it was a bit too salty for me, perhaps from the chicharron, but the chicharron was so delicious that I was glad there was plenty on the plate to nibble on. It was such an interesting take on the classic Tartare de Boeuff, I was left very impressed with the menu and keen to come back again to try more of their cuisine and a cocktail too!

IMG_9635

Le Mary Celeste fills up very quickly with young locals, so come with just one or two companions to make sure you get a seat. I’d recommend the bar seating, so that you can watch the bartenders create their incredible cocktails and also have a chat to them as they were so friendly and helped me out with the menu, which changes daily. And it’s worth mentioning that they are famous for their oysters (when they’re in season) so I’d be sure to order those if you can!

Enjoy your meal at Le Mary Celeste, I hope the menu excites you as much as it did for me!

La Mary Celeste
1 rue Commines, 75003 Paris
Métro: Filles du Calvaire, St Sébastien Froissart
Reservation through their site for 6.00pm – 7.30pm time slots only
Daily 6.00pm – 2.00am, kitchen 7.00pm – 11.30pm, oyster bar (seasonal) from 6.00pm

Leave a Reply

