The Swedish Bakery & Cafe, Nelson, New Zealand

The highlight of my trip to Nelson for sure, The Swedish Bakery & Cafe is one of the most gorgeous bakeries I have come across. So small and quaint, but filled to the brim with fresh loaves of bread, pastries and local customers shoulder-to-shoulder to purchase their morning pastry and coffee. Looking in awe at what was on offer, deciding what to order was so difficult, but the wonderfully friendly locals gave us their recommendations and we were not left disappointed.

IMG_8435

I ordered the Swedish cinnamon bun (Kanel Bulle), the best I have even had – and I have tried quite a few in my time! It was so mouth watering-ly delicious, and the sprinkle of slithered almond on top added a delicate little crunch to make it just perfect. This is something definitely worth trying! As well as my cinnamon bun, I ordered their bread of the day, which was a sourdough made using local beer, and had it toasted with fresh butter and homemade marmalade. This as well just left me speechless. The dark sourdough bread was one of the best breads I have ever tried, and the super fresh butter and citrus marmalade was the perfect accompaniment. Do get a chance to try their bread, as the traditional methods and the small scale of their enterprise make such a huge difference to the quality.

IMG_8235

My friends, both German, tried the little baguettes filled with ham and cheese and were also struck by the beautiful taste and excellent crust – something that reminded them of the beautiful rustic loaves of Germany which they find so hard to find in Australia. We all also enjoyed coffees, which were all nice and strong and steaming hot – the perfect drink to warm us up in the cold NZ climate.

IMG_8238

We tried to make it back for lunch to try their poached sesame bagels with smoked salmon pate, but unfortunately did not make it back in time as they close at 2pm on a Saturday. But I am sure I will make my way back here one day for a cinnamon bun and more of their bread!

A true touch of Sweden in the small coastal city of Nelson, I’m sure you will fall in love with this idyllic little cafe as much as I did. Be sure to visit on an empty stomach, as you will want to try just about everything! Afterwards, stroll around the beautiful streets, venture up to the Cathedral, go for a coffee at Marvel, pop into the local galleries and then check out the interesting, historic Founders Park X

IMG_8230

http://theswedishbakery.co.nz?

54 Bridge St, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-546 8685
Mon – Fri:
8:30 am – 4:00 pm
Sat:
7:30 am – 1:30 pm
Leave a Reply

