Romolo Espresso Cucina, Sydney

Romolo sits inside the picturesque and elegant Strand Arcade in Sydney’s CBD, a historic shopping centre that is still in its original form since it’s opening in 1891. Sitting at the little benches of Romolo along the walkway of the Arcade is such a relaxing and calming experience, sipping away on a coffee and admiring the stunning architecture and decor. I take every opportunity to detour through the Strand when I’m walking through the city, and Romolo is one of my regular spots to stop and admire this beautiful, historic building.

IMG_1337

I haven’t tried the food here before, but I can say that it always looks delicious when I’m peeking over to other customers tables- it’s very popular for quick work lunches and meetings between the business men and women in the area. A few months ago I would have said that the coffee is one of the best cups of coffee you’ll get in the CBD, but most recently when I have been my coffee has been lukewarm and not as delicious as it used to be. But I’m yet to give up on them and will go again soon to see if it has improved. Gumption Coffee, another cafe a few doors down is very popular with the local office-workers, but the flavour of their coffee is quite unusual – I’ve come to really enjoy it black, but my mum adores their flat whites and gets one every time she is in the CBD.

After you’ve enjoyed your coffee at Romolo, and perhaps something to eat too, why not pop into Gerwürzhaus to pick up some unique spice mixes, such as Australian Bush Herbs and Dried Lavender, some beautiful teas from Taka Tea Garden, and some roasted nuts or chocolate coated nuts & dried fruit from The Nut Shop? (I love their dark chocolate prunes!) Then maybe to Strand Hatters for an excellent quality hat or up to the Suit Shop if you’re after some tailored pants? Enjoy! X

https://www.facebook.com/romolo.espresso.cucina

Leave a Reply

